Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Listen: A Perfect Circle’s “By and Down”, their first new song in a decade

on October 14, 2013, 11:25am

 Listen: A Perfect Circles By and Down, their first new song in a decade

On November 26th, A Perfect Circle will release A Perfect Circle Live: Featuring Stone And Echo, a box set collecting the band’s three-album discography alongside a DVD of a 2011 performance at Red Rocks. A week before, on November 19th, the band will unveil Three Sixty, a 13-track (or, 19-track deluxe) greatest hits collection.

Amid standbys like “Judith”, “3 Libras”, and “Passive” is a track entitled ”By and Down”, which serves as APC’s first new song in nearly a decade. Written during the early stages of the band’s re-emergence in 2010/2011, the five-minute piece of clanging drums and sweltering guitar hooks builds in volume and intensity like an art-rock Led Zeppelin. Listen to it now over at SPIN, or watch the band perform the song live below.

In an interview with Rolling Stone, frontman Maynard James Keenan discussed the genesis of both releases:

“Of course, record companies always have their little clause in their contract, about their right to release a greatest-hits record. I think that can be kind of weird sometimes, when you see ‘the greatest hits,’ no, no — ‘the greatest greatest hits.’ Releases by a record label that the band had nothing to do with, and there’s several versions of the same thing, over and over again. That’s kind of why we did the DVD and the box set. If you’re going to release a greatest hits, we should also offer something that’s not just the old recordings, rearranged. But on that greatest hits, there’s going to be the studio version of ‘By And Down’, which is the new track that we’ve been working on, that we never quite got around to recording.”

Check out the Three Sixty tracklist below (pre-orders are ongoing). For more info on A Perfect Circle Live, head here.

Three Sixty Tracklist:

Standard Edition
01. The Hollow
02. Judith
03. Orestes
04. 3 Libras
05. Weak And Powerless
06. The Noose
07. The Outsider
08. Blue
09. When The Levee Breaks
10. Imagine
11. Counting Bodies Like Sheep To The Rhythm Of The War Drums
12. Passive
13. By And Down

Deluxe Edition
Disc 1
01. The Hollow
02. Rose
03. Judith
04. Orestes
05. 3 Libras
06. The Package
07. Weak And Powerless
08. The Noose
09. The Outsider
10. Blue

Disc 2
01. Imagine
02. Passive
03. People Are People (live)
04. Counting Bodies Like Sheep To The Rhythm Of The War Drums
05. When The Levee Breaks
06. By And Down
07. 3 Libras (live)
08. Gravity (live)
09. Fiddle And The Drum (live)

No comments