Album Streams
Listen to Full Streams of the Newest Albums
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Stream Cults’ new album, Static

on October 06, 2013, 11:05pm

Cults Static

Indie-pop duo Cults are streaming their new album, Static, in full one week ahead of its official release date (October 15th via Columbia). Take a listen via

The 11-track effort serves as the follow-up to their 2011 self-titled debut. Its preceded by the singles “I Can Hardly Make You Mine” and “High Road”.

In an interview with Under the Radar, band member Brian Oblivion discusses their inspirations for the album:

“Lyrically, I definitely feel like this album was more inspired by our experiences here whereas the last one was more inspired by experiences in California. We had a lot of conversations about the lifestyle here in New York and the kind of entitlement people feel here and the selfishness and the need to succeed and the never accepting of anything good. That, to me, is what the album is rebelling against, the idea of your life as a cookie cutout of what you’re told is success, and how people quest after that while doing things that burn great relationships with people or communities, which could lead to a totally different kind of happiness or success. We’re 24 now and people are starting to start their lives, and it’s depressing to see people fall away from everyone in search of something that they never really wanted in the first place.”

Pre-orders for the album are ongoing. Below, watch the bizarre video for “High Road”:

Static Tracklist:
01. I Know
02. I Can Hardly Make You Mine
03. Always Forever
04. High Road
05. Were Before
06. So Far
07. Keep Your Head Up
08. TV Dream
09. We’ve Got It
10. Shine A Light
11. No Hope

No comments