New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Listen: Cat Power’s new “Free” remix, from HBO’s Girls soundtrack

on January 24, 2014, 3:06pm

As we’ve noted, the soundtrack for the current season of HBO’s Girls boasts more than a handful of notable picks. Along with new material from Jenny Lewis, Beck, and Miguel, the 16-track collection also features older material (Oasis’ “Wonderwall”), covers (Vampire Weekend’s take on Bruce Springsteen’s “I’m Goin’ Down”), and remixes.

The latest piece off the soundtrack belongs to the latter bunch, a rework of Cat Power’s excellent “Free”. At the helm is Minneapolis-based producer Matthew Thomas Masurka, a.k.a. Gigamesh, best known for his work on Mike Posner’s “Cooler Than Me” as well as a string of Foster The People and Grouplove remixes. Here, he flips the You Are Free original into a dizzying, dance-worthy number. Check it out below.

Girls Volume 2: All Adventurous Women Do… Tracklist:
01. Vampire Weekend – “I’m Going Down”
02. Jenny Lewis – “Completely Not Me” *
03. M Ward – “I Get Ideas”
04. Lily Allen – “Late Comer”
05. Beck – “Blue Moon”
06. Miguel – “simplethings” *
07. Christina Perri – “I Don’t Wanna Break”
08. Oasis – “Wonderwall”
09. Zero DeZire – “It’s My Birthday (Remix)” *
10. Aimee Mann – “How Am I Different”
11. Father John Misty – “Nancy From Now On”
12. Jake Bugg – “There’s A Beast And We All Feed It”
13. Cat Power – “Free (Gigamesh Remix)” *
14. Daniel Johnston – “Life In Vain (Live At Austin City Limits)”
15. Michael Penn – “Daisy (From One Man’s Trash)” *

* = Girls exclusive

No comments