Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Listen: Damon Albarn’s new single, “Everyday Robots”

on January 20, 2014, 11:10am

Over the weekend, Blur/Gorillaz mastermind Damon Albarn revealed details of his debut solo album, Everyday Robots, due out April 29th via Warner Bros. Records. Now, he’s shared our first taste of the 12-track effort with a video for title track/lead single, “Everyday Robots”. Albarn has described the album as “sort of folk soul,” and while the track does make use of those elements, there seems to be something a little more sinister going on as well.  “We’re everyday robots in control, or in the process of being sold,” he croons, hinting at a darker evil.

Meanwhile, the video was created by artist designer Aitor Throup, who used “CGI software and actual cranial scans and facial reconstruction techniques to explore and reveal the process of building a uniquely personal portrait of an artist and individual.” Watch it below; it will also premiere tonight on the Sundance Channel at 10:45pm ET.

Recorded last year at Albarn’s West London studio 13, Everyday Robots is produced by XL Recordings head Richard Russell and features guest appearances from Brian Eno and Bat For Lashes’ Natasha Khan. According to a press release, “the songs’ subject matter is more directly personal than before and is inspired by Albarn’s experiences from early childhood to now, including the trappings of our modern existence, computer games, mobile phones and nature versus technology.”

Everyday Robots Tracklist:
01. Everyday Robots
02. Hostiles
03. Lonely Press Play
04. Mr Tembo
05. Parakeet
06.The Selfish Giant
07. You and Me
08. Hollow Ponds
09. Seven High
10. Photographs (You Are Taking Now)
11. The History Of A Cheating Heart
12. Heavy Seas Of Love

Everyday Robots DVD Tracklist:
01. Track x Track Video (Bundle Only)
02. Everyday Robots (live from Fox studios Los Angeles)
03. Hostiles (live from Fox studios Los Angeles)
04. Lonely Press Play (live from Fox studios Los Angeles)
05. Hollow Ponds (libe from Fox studios Los Angeles)

No comments