Listen: Jim Jarmusch’s new song “The Taste of Blood”

on January 29, 2014, 4:45pm

Jim Jarmusch’s vampire-themed film Only Lovers Left Alive made its debut at the 2013 Cannes Film Festival. Though nominated, it did not win the esteemed festival’s highest award, the Palme D’or. However, it did take home the Soundtrack Award thanks to the musical work of Jarmusch himself, his band SQÜRL, and Dutch composer and lutist Jozef Van Wissem.

Judging by the equal parts ominous and melodious song “The Taste of Blood”, it’s easy to see why the festival judges doled out the honor. The instrumental is dark, mysterious, and vaguely threatening in its tone. Listen below.

Written and directed by Jarmusch, Only Lovers Left Alive stars Tom Hiddleston, Tilda Swinton, Mia Wasikowska, John Hurt, and Anton Yelchin. The film hits American theaters on April 11th, while its official soundtrack arrives in stores on February 17th through ATP Recordings in CD and 2xLP.

“The Taste of Blood” finds itself placed in the middle of a strange-sounding tracklist with titles like “Funnel of Love”, “Please Feel Free To Piss in the Garden”,  and “Our Hearts Condemn Us”.

Only Lovers Left Alive Official Soundtrack Tracklist:
01. Streets of Detroit – SQÜRL
02. Funnel of Love – SQÜRL (featuring Madeline Follin)
03. Sola Gratia (Part 1) – Jozef Van Wissem & SQÜRL
04. The Taste of Blood – Jozef Van Wissem & SQÜRL
05. Diamond Star – SQÜRL
06. Please Feel Free To Piss in the Garden – SQÜRL
07. Spooky Action at a Distance – SQÜRL
08. Streets of Tangier – Jozef Van Wissem & SQÜRL
09. In Templum Dei – Jozef Van Wissem (featuring Zola Jesus)
10. Sola Gratia (Part 2) – Jozef Van Wissem & SQÜRL
11. Our Hearts Condemn Us – Jozef Van Wissem
12. Hal – Yasmine Hamdan
13. Only Lovers Left Alive – Jozef Van Wissem & SQÜRL
14. This Is Your Wilderness – Jozef Van Wissem & SQÜRL

Songs Featured in Only Lovers Left Alive:
“Funnel of Love” – Wanda Jackson
“Harissa” – Kasbah Rockers
“Caprice No. 5 in A Minor” – Charles Yang
“Gamil” – Y.A.S.
“Can’t Hardly Stand It” – Charlie Feathers
“Trapped by a Thing Called Love” – Denise LaSalle
“Soul Dracula” – Hot Blood
“Under Skin or by Name” – White Hills
“Red Eyes and Tears” – Black Rebel Motorcycle Club
“Little Village” – Bill Laswell
“Hal” – Yasmine Hamdan