Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Listen: Silversun Pickups’ new song, “Cannibal”

on January 02, 2014, 11:28am


Artwork by Dimitri Jackson

Los Angeles rockers Silversun Pickups have kept loyal to Dangerbird Records for 10 years. To celebrate, they’re releasing an 11-track hits package titled, The Singles Collection, on February 25th.

“We have a band amnesia that keeps us from looking at the past,” lead singer Brian Aubert told Rolling Stone. “It’s not conscious, it’s just how we operate. All these songs are just a part of our fabric and we perform them all often, which keeps them current. So we have modern memories attached to them as well as the historical ones.”

Fans will recognize most of the tracks from the band’s various LPs and EPs, though one new song dubbed “Cannibal” should tickle their fancy. It’s a modern slice of digitized post-punk that’s wired with enough computerized hooks to keep R2-D2 spinning. Listen below and consult the full tracklist shortly after.

Also, don’t hold your breath on a follow-up to 2012’s disappointing Neck of the Woods. Aubert explained: “We’ll start working on the next album when we all come to the conclusion that it’s time. We never know when that’ll be, but personally, I hope it’s sooner than later. I have a lot of weird ideas that need to come out.”

The Singles Collection Tracklist:
01. Kissing Families
02. Lazy Eye
03. Well Thought Out Twinkles
04. Little Lover’s So Polite
05. Panic Switch
06. Substitution
07. The Royal We
08. Bloody Mary (Nerve Endings)
09. The Pit
10. Dots And Dashes (Enough Already)
11. Cannibal

1 comment