Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Brian Eno teams with Underworld’s Karl Hyde for new album Someday World

on February 25, 2014, 11:24am

Ambient mastermind Brian Eno and Underworld founder Karl Hyde are joining forces for a collaborative album titled, Someday World. Due out May 6th on Warp, the nine-track LP was produced by Eno and 22-year-old Fred Gibson, and features an eclectic cast of musicians, specifically Coldplay’s Will Champion and his wife Marianne, Roxy Music’s Andy Mackay, Don E, producer John Reynolds, Tessa Angus, Nell Catchpole, and more.

In a press release, Eno discussed the collaboration:

“A lot of the nicer cities I know are cities built on hills, and the cities are beautiful because the buildings have a challenge to adapt to. They have to mould themselves around the geology that they’ve formed upon. And that always makes for very interesting buildings, because they can’t just be blocks, they have to somehow morph around the environment. A lot of the constructions on the album were deliberately irregular and awkward.  I had a big collection of ‘beginnings’ sitting around waiting for something to galvanise them into life, to make them more than just ‘experiments’. That something turned out to be Karl Hyde.”

Hyde added:

“It’s a bit like being nine years old again. You have no idea what you’ve just been given, the record button has been pressed and you’re on. And then these unlikely patterns start to happen. The biggest surprise was discovering we both had a love of Afrobeat, Cyclical music based in live playing. When Brian played me these early tracks it was, ‘Oh my god, this is home! Can I borrow a guitar?”

The album will be available in multiple formats, including a special edition 2CD release featuring four bonus songs. Check out the tracklist and album artwork below.

Someday World Tracklist:
01.  The Satellites
02.  Daddy’s Car
03.  A Man Wakes Up
04.  Witness
05.  Strip It Down
06.  Mother Of A Dog
07.  Who Rings The Bell
08.  When I Built This World
09.  To Us All

brian eno someday world Brian Eno teams with Underworlds Karl Hyde for new album Someday World

No comments