New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Listen: Colourmusic’s new fuzz-fueled song “Dreamgirl ’82”

on February 07, 2014, 3:45pm

This spring, Oklahoma psych-rockers Colourmusic return with their new album, May You Marry Rich. Compared to 2011’s My ___ Is Pink, the forthcoming 12-track effort is a “darker affair” about “obsessing over mankind’s seemingly insatiable lust for pure happiness”, according to a press release.

“It’s about having the option to have anything you want, like a King, and asking whether that would make you happy”, frontman Ryan Hendrix elaborated. “It’s about happiness and a theory that we’re not wired to have contentment as our genetic disposition.”

For a taste of the new LP, get tangled up in the fuzzy antics of “Dreamgirl ’82”. Even at four minutes, the track is a sprawling and turbulent trip, its crunchy, chugging chaos a nearly unstoppable force. Check it out below.

May You Marry Rich is due out April 8th via Memphis Industries.

May You Marry Rich Tracklist:
01. The Duchess
02. Dreamgirl ’82
03. Rendezvous with Destiny
04. Silvertape
05. Satyricon
06. Audacity of Hope
07. Overture
08. Horse Race
09. Snake in the Mouth
10. Object
11. Untitled
12. Idiot

No comments