New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Listen: Drive-By Truckers’ new song “Made Up English Ocean”

on February 04, 2014, 3:05pm

Alt-country journeymen Drive-By Truckers have premiered the (almost) title track off their upcoming 12th album, English Oceans. While lead single “Pauline Hawkins” was crunchy and smoke-filled, “Made Up English Oceans” is decidedly more minimalistic, lined with lean acoustic guitars, understated percussion, and subtle organ tones. Billed as a “scathing [take-down] of right-wing demagogues,” the song has lead singer Mike Cooley channeling righteous indignation in his delivery. Listen to the barebones song below.

English Oceans is out March 5th via ATO Records.

English Oceans Tracklist:

01. Shit Shots Count
02. When He’s Gone
03. Primer Coat
04. Pauline Hawkins
05. Made Up English Oceans
06. The Part of Him
07. Hearing Jimmy Loud
08. Til He’s Dead or Rising
09. Hanging On
10. Natural Light
11. When Walter Went Crazy
12. First Air of Autumn
13. Grand Canyon

No comments