New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Listen: The Body teams with The Haxan Cloak for “Hail to Thee, Everlasting Pain”

on February 04, 2014, 2:30pm

Last fall, sludge metal outfit The Body released their fourth album, Christs, Redeemers. Now, just a few months later, they’ll return with another new LP titled I Shall Die Here. Due out on April 1st via RVNG, the six-track collection finds them collaborating with acts like The Haxan Cloak, Lee Buford, and Chip King while delving into “wholly experimental” territories.

According to a press release, I Shall Die Here is “the tried and true sound of The Body cut to pieces, mutilated by process and re-animated in a spectral state by the newly minted partnership.”

For a peek at this new venture, listen to “Hail to Thee, Everlasting Pain”, the track featuring Haxan Cloak. A truly menacing number, it features over five minutes of unsettling noise — loops of muffled, blood-curdling screams layered atop dooming, grinding electronic clamor. Check it out below.

I Shall Die Here Tracklist:
01. To Carry the Seeds of Death Within Me
02. Alone All the Way
03. The Night Knows No Dawn
04. Hail to Thee, Everlasting Pain
05. Our Souls Were Clean
06. Darkness Surrounds Us

1 comment