New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Listen: The Coathangers’ new song “Springfield Cannonball”

on February 12, 2014, 8:30pm

With “Follow Me”, the lead single from Suck My Shirt, Atlanta punk outfit The Coathangers did away with their usual kitsch in favor of snarling vocals and caustic guitars. Today, they return to their more fun-loving ways with “Springfield Cannonball”. Even with filthy power chords that undulate like vintage Black Flag and drumming that would tire even Animal, it’s the trio’s grating utterance of the title that cements this song firmly in the vein of jokier, goofier acts a la The Vandals or The Dickies. Listen in below.

Suck My Shirt is due out March 18th via Suicide Squeeze Records.

Suck My Shirt Tracklist:
01. Follow Me
02. Shut Up
03. Springfield Cannonball
04. Merry Go Round
05. Love Em and Leave Em
06. Zombie
07. Smother
08. Dead Battery
09. Adderall
10. Derek’s Song
11. I Wait
12. Drive