Album Streams
Listen to Full Streams of the Newest Albums
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Stream: St. Vincent’s new album

on February 17, 2014, 11:12pm

St. Vincent’s self-titled fourth solo record is due out February 25th via Loma Vista/Republic Records. A week ahead of its release, the album is available to stream below (via The Guardian).

The follow-up to our 2011 Album of the Year Strange Mercy, Annie Clark demoed the 11-track effort in Austin before canning the album in a Dallas studio. Accompanying her in the recording were Dap-Kings drummer Homer Steinweiss, frequent collaborator McKenzie Smith of Midlake, and returning producer John Congleton (Actor, Strange Mercy).

In a recent interview with Exclaim, Clark said futuring tour behind the release had a big impact on the songs’ style. “For a few reasons, I was almost reverse-engineering the record to make sure there could be a really energetic live show,” she said. “I wanted to make something that was really kinetic, sexy from a rhythm section standpoint.”

“I knew the groove needed to be paramount,” Clark remarked in an issued press release. “I wanted to make a party record you could play at a funeral.” She expounded on the sonic ideas behind the 11-track effort to Exclaim, crediting some of the album’s esthetic to rap. “Also, I feel like you can get away with a lot of bananas technicolor stuff on top if the groove is there; you can get away with things because you’ve got people bobbing their heads. I think that’s one of the big lessons of hip-hop. It’s a very elastic medium.”

Pre-orders for the new album are ongoing.

St. Vincent Tracklist:
01. Rattlesnake
02. Birth In Reverse
03. Prince Johnny
04. Huey Newton
05. Digital Witness
06. I Prefer Your Love
07. Regret
08. Bring Me Your Loves
09. Psychopath
10. Every Tear Disappears
11. Severed Crossed Fingers

1 comment