New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Atmosphere announce new album Southsiders, stream “Bitter”

on March 03, 2014, 1:36pm

Minneapolis hip-hop duo Atmosphere will release their eighth studio album, Southsiders, on May 6th via Rhymesayers Entertainment. The follow-up to 2011’s The Family Sign spans 15 tracks, including one entitled “Kanye West”, and serves as the pair’s first new music since last July’s standalone single “Bob Seger”.

As our first taste of the album, Atmosphere’s unveiled the lead single “Bitter”. After spending the last few years exploring more introspective territory, Slim’s lyricism returns to the acerbic wit of 2008’s Seven’s Travels, pointing fingers at haters and usurpers with straight-forward, no nonsense rhymes (“You’re so bitter/Cold as a river/In winter”). It’s an especially effective over Ant’s production, whose oddball take on ’90s West Coast gangsta rap enhances the inherent mix of playfulness and unassuming intensity. Listen in below.

Southsiders Tracklist:
01. Camera Thief
02. Arthur’s Song
03. The World Might Not Live Through the Night
04. Star Shaped Heart
05. I Love You Like a Brother
06. Southsiders
07. Bitter
08. Mrs. Interpret
09. Fortunate
10. Kanye West
11. We Ain’t Gonna Die Today
12. My Lady Got Two Men
13. Flicker
14. January on Lake Street
15. Let Me Know That You Know What You Want Now

No comments