New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Danny Brown to reissue Hot Soup mixtape, listen to new version of “Contra”

on March 21, 2014, 5:45pm

On April 15th, Danny Brown will reissue his 2008 mixtape Hot Soup via Street Corner Music. Available as either 2xCD or double vinyl, the collection features five new bonus tracks. The vinyl edition also includes a separate 45 with two additional bonus tracks: “Radiohead” and “Contra”.

This alternate version of “Contra”¬†features an extra verse from the version found on House Shoes and Apollo Brown’s 2011 Daily Bread mixtape. It’s one of Brown’s most promising early tracks and quite indicative of the lyrical inventiveness that lay ahead. Listen below.

Hot Soup Tracklist:
01. Level One
02. Dance
03. What Up Doe
04. Ten G’s a Week
05. Sittin’ So High
06. Swagger to the Max
07. Succeed (ft. Kineses)
08. She Love It (feat. Nick Speed & Lola Damone)
09. Head
10. Squeeze Precisely (feat. Rapper Big Pooh & O-Dash)
11. Rese-Vor Dogs (feat. Mike Luke & Chip$)
12. Gun in Yo Mouf (feat. Chip$ & Mary Won)
13. Let’s Go
14. Two Steps Back
15. Work Song
16. Streets of Detroit
17. Numbers
18. Watch ‘Em
19. Hot Soup Commercial
20. Hot Soup Interview (feat. K-Fresh)

Bonus 45:
Side A: Contra
Side B: Radiohead

No comments