Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Guided by Voices announce new album Cool Planet, stream “Bad Love Is Easy To Do”

on March 04, 2014, 5:15pm

This has got to be a record, even for these guys: just two weeks removed from the release of Motivational Jumpsuit, the ever-prolific Guided by Voices have announced plans for a new album. Their sixth effort since reuniting in 2010, Cool Planet will hit shelves on May 13th via Guided by Voices, Inc.

According to a press release, the 18-track effort was recorded during the “sub-freezing Polar Vortex of 2014” in a “single, proper studio” (specifically, Ohio’s Cyberteknics), a first in GBV’s post-reunion career. Robert Pollard and Co. were joined by longtime collaborator Kevin March, who replaced former drummer Kevin Fennell. (As you’ll recall, Fennell either left the band or was fired last year after attempting to sell a drum kit online for $55,000.)

As our first taste of the album, the band’s unveiled “Bad Love Is Easy to Do”. Take a listen to the bare-bones, slightly ramshackle power-pop ballad below.

Cool Planet Tracklist:
01. Authoritarian Zoo
02. Fast Crawl
03. Psychotic Crush
04. Costume Makes the Man
05. Hat of Flames
06. These Dooms
07. Table at Fool’s Tooth
08. All American Boy
09. You Get Every Game
10. Pan Swimmer
11. The Bone Church
12. Bad Love is Easy to Do
13. The No Doubters
14. Narrated by Paul
15. Cream of Lung
16. Males of Wormwood Mars
17. Ticket to Hide
18. Cool Planet