New Music Releases
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Listen: Bruce Springsteen’s new song “Hurry Up Sundown”

on April 16, 2014, 1:51pm

As previously reported, rock messiah Bruce Springsteen is commemorating Record Store Day (April 19th) by releasing a new EP. Entitled American Beauty, the record collects three unreleased tracks from Springsteen’s latest album High Hopes — “American Beauty”, “Mary Mary”, and “Hey Blue Eyes” — plus a fourth standalone single, “Hurry Up Sundown”. In anticipation, you can stream “Hurry Up Sundown” at NPR.

An electrifying merger of earnest folk and rollicking arena rock (seriously, the chorus makes me want to jam out in the middle of a cornfield), the track features Springsteen playing every instrument with the exception of drums. Rather, those are handled by none other than Josh Freese (A Perfect Circle, Devo, Nine Inch Nails). While the origins of “Hurry Up Sundown” are unknown, the track proves that, even as he spent much of High Hopes solemnly ruminating, the Boss is still a wellspring of youthful exuberance. Though, Courtney Love may disagree.

(Read: Bruce Springsteen: 40 Years, 40 Songs)

American Beauty Tracklist:
01. American Beauty
02. Mary Mary
03. Hurry Up Sundown
04. Hey Blue Eyes