Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Listen: Fucked Up’s new songs “Led By Hand”, featuring J Mascis, and “Warm Change”

on April 29, 2014, 10:48am

Update: The band’s shared another new track, the blistering, drum-heavy “Warm Change”. Listen to it now at NPR.

Toronto hardcore outfit Fucked Up has unveiled “Led By Hand”, the second track from its upcoming fourth studio album Glass Boys, due out June 3rd via Matador Records. If lead single “Paper The House” was a return to the visceral sounds of 2008′s breakthrough The Chemistry of Common Life, then “Led By Hand” turns the volume up way past 11 (and maybe brings in a few extra amps to boot). Listen closely through the cannonade of drums and Damian Abraham’s doubly fierce wailing and you just may hear the docile stylings of guest vocalist J Mascis.

In an interview with CoS, guitarist Mike Haliechuk said the 10-track album is “a bit more chill and less OCD than the last record”, adding, “There’s not a million riffs, it’s way drummier, and just feels way looser all around.” Haliechuk explained that while it’s not another concept album, “every Fucked Up record does have some agenda”, specifically exploring “that second coming of age you have when you’re already an adult.”

Glass Boys Tracklist:
01. Echo Boomer
02. Touch Stone
03. Sun Glass
04. The Art Of Patrons
05. Warm Change
06. Paper The House
07. DET
08. Led By Hand
09. The Great Divide
10. Glass Boy

No comments