New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Listen: Glass Animals’ hypnotizing new song “Pools”

on April 17, 2014, 12:30pm

Rising UK four-piece Glass Animals will unveil their debut album, ZABA, on June 10th through Harvest Records. The 11-track effort was produced by frontman Dave Bayley and recorded in the London studio of executive producer Paul Epworth (Adele, Foster the People).

The album was inspired by Bayley’s favorite childhood story of “adventure, exoticism, and discovery,” William Steig’s The Zabajaba Jungle, as well as “New World scenarios of Apocalypse Now, The Island of Dr Moreau, Heart of Darkness, The African Queen, and Mosquito Coast.

“The sound of the record is like a backdrop of man-made wilderness…” Bayley says in a press release.

Their latest LP offering, “Pools”, wastes no time setting the scene of a lively tropical locale, the first few seconds filled with late-night animal calls of all varieties: howls, squawks, whistles. But it’s not until the groovy percussion lays out a hypnotizing pattern and Bayley’s sultry vocals leave a trail of smoke that the syrupy psych-pop jam really seals the deal. Listen in below.

For more of Glass Animals, check out “Gooey” and their cover of Kanye West’s “Love Lockdown”.

ZABA Tracklist:
01. Flip
02. Black Mambo
03. Pools
04. Gooey
05. Walla Walla
06. Intruxx
07. Hazey
08. Toes
09. Wyrd
10. Cocoa Hooves
11. JDNT

No comments