New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Listen: Sharon Van Etten’s new single “Every Time The Sun Comes Up”

on April 29, 2014, 11:21am

On May 27th, Sharon Van Etten will let loose her third album, Are We There, via Jagjaguwar. Our first taste of the LP came in the form of the intricate “Taking Chances”. Now, the Brooklyn singer-songwriter serves up another slice of new music with the album’s closing number, “Every Time The Sun Comes Up”.

“We broke your glasses, but covered our asses”, she coos somewhat regretfully, but mostly in jest over a bed of twangy guitars. We’ve seen Van Etten brood and bleed (like on Tramp); it’s good to hear some goofiness, too. Listen in below (via Pitchfork).

The followup to 2012′s TrampAre We There was produced by Van Etten herself alongside Stewart Lerman (St. Vincent, Regina Spektor) and recorded at NJ’s Hobo Sound Studios and New York’s legendary Electric Lady Studios. Below, peep the full tracklist plus Van Etten’s upcoming tour schedule.

Are We There Tracklist:
01. Afraid of Nothing
02. Taking Chances
03. Your Love Is Killing Me
04. Our Love
05. Tarifa
06. I Love You But I’m Lost
07. You Know Me Well
08. Break Me
09. Nothing Will Change
10. I Know
11. Every Time the Sun Comes Up

No comments