New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Listen: The Walkmen’s Peter Matthew Bauer shares new song “Philadelphia Raga”

on April 25, 2014, 1:15pm

Though they only disbanded last winter, several of The Walkmen’s members have already launched their own solo projects. Frontman Hamilton Leithauser is currently on tour in support of his forthcoming Black Hours, while multi-instrumentalist Walter Martin has been busy rolling out kid-friendly music off his new album, We’re All Young Together. Bassist Peter Matthew Bauer is no different, as he’s prepping the release of his debut LP, Liberation!, due out June 24th via Mexican Summer.

After sharing the crunchy lead single “Latin American Ficciones”, Bauer returns with a new song called “Philadelphia Raga”. The nearly five-minute track begins as an elegant and refined instrumental before eventually morphing into a toe-tapping, mid-tempo rocker. Listen in below.

Liberation! Tracklist
01. I Was Born in an Ashram
02. Latin American Ficciones
03. Philadelphia Raga
04. Fortune Tellers
05. Shiva the Destroyer
06. Liberation!
07. Scientology Airplane Conversations
08. Istanbul Field Recording
09. Irish Wake in Varanasi (For Big Pete Devlin)
10. Shaved Heads & Pony Tails
11. You Are The Chapel

No comments