Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Here’s the outrageous artwork for Mastodon’s new album, Once More ‘Round the Sun

on April 29, 2014, 8:40am

Mastodon have revealed the release date and tracklist for their new album, Once More ‘Round the Sun, but the real story here is the album artwork. As they’ve done on several occasions before, the Atlanta metal band has unveiled a visual that could be classified as utterly outrageous.

Serving as the follow-up to 2011’s The HunterOnce More ‘Round the Sun will be released on June 24th through Reprise Records. It contains 11 tracks and is preceded by “High Road”, which you can revisit below.

The album was recorded in Franklin, Tennessee with producer Nick Raskulinecz (Deftones, Rush, Alice in Chains). In an interview with Paste, frontman Troy Sanders described the end result as 60-or-so minutes of “pure, authentic Mastodon.” He continued, “A lot of people ask us if it kicks off where The Hunter left off. And to a large degree, I suppose yes. We recorded it and took it on the road with us, and then we headed back to our rehearsal space and started working out ideas. I’ve had a lot of time to ingest this record, and it’s solid. It’s a large slab of granite. I’m once again completely proud of these guys.”

Once More ‘Round the Sun Tracklist:
01. Tread Lightly
02. The Motherload
03. High Road
04. Once More ‘Round the Sun
05. Chimes at Midnight
06. Asleep in the Deep
07. Feast Your Eyes
08. Aunt Lisa
09. Ember City
10. Halloween
11. Diamond in the Witch House

Below, revisit our interview with Mastodon’s Brann Dailor: