New Music Releases
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

La Roux announces new album, Trouble in Paradise, stream “Let Me Down Gently”

on May 12, 2014, 3:06pm

London synth-popper Elly Jackson, a.k.a. La Roux, has announced details of her sophomore album. Due out July 8th via Cherrytree/Interscope, Trouble in Paradise serves as the follow-up to her 2009 self-titled debut.

The nine-track effort, self-produced by Jackson alongside Ian Sherwin, is previewed by “Let Me Down Gently”. The song opens with a slow burn, a steady electronic beat bumping through the buzz. But after a brief moment of silence, dance floor rhythms take over. In a way, the transition gives a double meaning to the song’s heartbroken refrain: “When you let me down gently, it still feels hard.” Take a listen below.

Trouble in Paradise Tracklist:
01. Uptight Downtown
02. Kiss and Not Tell
03. Cruel Sexuality
04. Paradise Is You
05. Sexotheque
06. Tropical Chancer
07. Silent Partner
08. Let Me Down Gently
09. The Feeling

In anticipation of the new release, La Roux has lined up an impressive round of tour dates that includes a visit to New York’s Governors Ball. Find the full docket here.