Album Streams
Listen to Full Streams of the Newest Albums
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Stream: Conor Oberst’s new album Upside Down Mountain

on May 11, 2014, 11:29pm

Conor Oberst’s new album, Upside Down Mountain, arrives on May 20th through Nonesuch Records. In anticipation, it’s streaming in full via

The 13-track LP serves as his first solo release since 2009’s Outers South. It was recorded with Father John Misty producer Jonathan Wilson and features vocals from First Aid Kit. According to Oberst, the album marks a return to his roots.

“This is a return to an earlier way I wrote,” he noted in a press release. He added, “It’s more intimate or personal, if you will. For me, language is a huge part of why I make music. I’m not the greatest guitar player or piano player — I’m not the greatest singer, either — but I feel if I can come up with melodies I like that are fused with poetry I’m proud of, then that’s what I bring to the table. That’s why I’m able to do this.”

Upside Down Mountain is preceded by the music festival-inspired “Governor’s Ball” and “Hundreds of Ways”.

Below, listen to the album’s latest single, “Kick”, written about Robert F. Kennedy, Jr.’s daughter, Kathleen “Kick” Kennedy.

Pre-orders for the album are ongoing.

Upside Down Mountain Tracklist:
01. Time Forgot
02. Zigzagging Toward The Light
03. Hundreds of Ways
04. Artifact #1
05. Lonely At The Top
06. Enola Gay
07. Double Life
08. Kick
09. Night At Lake Unknown
10. You Are Your Mother’s Child
11. Governor’s Ball
12. Desert Island Questionnaire
13. Common Knowledge