Album Streams
Listen to Full Streams of the Newest Albums
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Stream: Echo and the Bunnymen’s new album Meteorites

on May 19, 2014, 9:46am

Echo and the Bunnymen will release Meteorites, their 12th studio album and first in over five years, on June 3rd via 429 Records. In anticipation, the album is streaming in full below (via The Guardian.)

The follow-up to 2009’s The Fountain was produced by Killing Joke bassist Youth. The recording lineup included frontman Ian McCulloch, guitarists Will Sergeant and Gordy Goudie, and bassist Stephen Brannan.

McCulloch is quoted as saying “it’s the band’s best work for a very long time.” He added, “Meteorites is what Echo and the Bunnymen mean and are meant to be — up there in heaven — untouchable, celestial, beautiful and real. It has changed my life.”

In a subsequent interview with The Press, McCulloch further described the album’s scope:

“For me, this is a whole new approach. It’s more edgy than anything I’ve ever done. I’m dealing with something on this record I didn’t want to deal with for a long time. Youth said, ‘Your lyrics are brilliant, but you’ve got something to get out’ about where I was at that time. So I followed his advice. I wrote from the soul, more so than the heart and the brain. It scares the hell out of me, and surprises me, how much I’ve been able to reveal without putting a veil over it.”

The album is preceded by three singles, “Market Town”, “Lovers on the Run”, and “Holy Moses”Pre-orders are ongoing.

Meteorites Tracklist:
01. Lovers On The Run
02. Is This A Breakdown
03. Holy Moses
04. Meteorites
05. Explosions
06. Icarus
07. I Loved The Devil
08. Constantinople
09. Market Town
10. New Horizons

No comments