Album Streams
Listen to Full Streams of the Newest Albums
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Stream: Hundred Waters’ new album The Moon Rang Like a Bell

on May 18, 2014, 11:45pm

Florida-via-California’s own experimental pop act Hundred Waters will release their sophomore album, The Moon Rang Like a Bell, on May 27th through OWSLA. Before the record arrives in stores, you can stream it now at NPR.

A lot has changed for the band since their 2012 self-titled debut, especially with how they think about music. “Our first album was made before we knew that this was going to be our everyday,” guitarist/electronics controller Paul Giese told, “And before we knew we were going to be playing it live especially. This new stuff comes from two years of only thinking about misuc and only thinking about what it means to be doing this and meeting all of these inspiring people in music, instead of having to divide between school and work and what not.”

Signing to Skrillex’s OWSLA label also had an impact on the band’s creative dynamic. Vocalist and keyboardist Nicole Miglis told Pitchfork, “Making the album was extremely difficult. It was enjoyable at times, too, but there’s a million other psychological factors. Now you’re putting it out on a label, and it’s being sold in a record store, and that’s in your head. The whole battle is just pushing that stuff out. It’s about reaching that point of creativity where you’re not confounded by a million different voices.”

The release of The Moon Rang Like a Bell is preceded by singles “Cavity”, “Down From the Rafters” and “XTalk”, as well as the Japanese bonus track “Nowhere”. Hundred Waters will support the release with a tour starting June 22nd, including festival stops at Bunbury, PitchforkCapitol Hill Block Party, and their own three-day album release fest on May 24th. See their full itinerary here.

The Moon Rang Like a Bell Tracklist:
01. Show Me Love
02. Murmurs
03. Cavity
04. Out Alee
05. Innocent
06. Broken Blue
07. Chambers (Passing Train)
08. Down from the Rafters
09. [Animal]
10. Seven White Horses
11. XTalk
12. No Sound

No comments