Album Streams
Listen to Full Streams of the Newest Albums
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Stream: The Roots’ new album And Then You Shoot Your Cousin

on May 13, 2014, 3:15pm

The Roots’ new album, And Then You Shoot Your Cousin, is out this week via Def Jam Records. It’s also streaming in full at Pitchfork.

In an interview with XXL earlier last year, Black Thought said And Then You Shoot Your Cousin is “another concept album in the spirit of [2011′s] undun, but it’s not just about just one kind of character. We create quite a few different characters in this record. It’s satire, but in that satire it’s an analysis of some of the stereotypes perpetuated in not only the hip-hop community, but in the community. I don’t know if that makes any sense.”

He added, “We created some of these characters that we kind of see. We as artists, musicians, Philadelphians, New Yorkers, we as black men, we’re familiar with very many of these characters, and we kind of introduce them to the rest of the world in a manner that makes them more easily understood than maybe seeing it.”

Musically, though, the 12-track effort proves to be much more “sonically dense” than undun. “So dense that maybe in one sitting you’ll listen to it and only listen to the piano and string arrangements,” Black Thought said. “Then you’ll listen to it again and you’ll get into the actual words that are being said, and you’ll listen again and get into some of the other musicality. There’s very many layers to this record, but it doesn’t take place over very much time.”

The LP is preceded by two singles: “When The People Cheer” and “Tomorrow”.

Orders for the album are ongoing. Below, watch the lyric video for “When The People Cheer”:

And Then You Shoot Your Cousin Tracklist:
01. Theme From The Middle Of The Night
02. Never
03. When The People Cheer
04. The Devil…
05. Black Rock
06. Understand
07. Dies Irae
8. The Coming
09. The Dark (Trinity)
10. The Unraveling
11. Tomorrow
12. Nothing