New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Listen: FKA Twigs’ new song “Two Weeks”

on June 23, 2014, 7:12pm

During live shows throughout the year, British experimental R&B artist FKA Twigs has debuted a number of tracks that eventually made up her upcoming debut, LP1. That includes the exotic “Lights On”, the mournful “Pendulum”, and the sweat-soaked “Give Up”. Today, though, she shares the first official studio track with “Two Weeks”, which singer Ellie Goulding premiered during today’s guest-hosting gig for BBC Radio 1’s Zane Lowe.

Here, Twigs manages to find the sweet spot between foreboding and sensuous. While her lush, angelic croon is enough to easily draw you in, the beat of skittish drums and slightly menacing synths keeps you right on the tip of your toes. The result is a listening experience that’s utterly peaceful, a little jarring, and totally unavoidable.

Update: Watch the song’s accompanying video, directed by Nabil.

LP1 is due out August 12th via Young Turks. For more from FKA Twigs, check out the totally beguiling video for her remix of 2012’s “Ache”.

LP1 Tracklist:
01. Preface
02. Lights On
03. Two Weeks
04. Hours
05. Pendulum
06. Video Girl
07. Numbers
08. Closer
09. Give Up
10. Kicks

1 comment