Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Listen: Jenny Lewis’ “Just One Of The Guys”, produced by Beck

on June 03, 2014, 8:30am

Jenny Lewis has unveiled the first single from her upcoming album, The Voyager, due out July 29th via Warner Bros. Records. Entitled “Just One Of The Guys”, the indie-rock stomper is one of the tracks produced by Beck (who also provides backing vocals). According to Lewis, it was recorded during a particularly relaxing visit it to Beck’s home studio.

“It was one of the tunes I’d tried a few different ways before I finally recorded it with Beck at his home studio in Malibu,” Lewis said in a statement. “The whole experience was super laid-back — walking on the beach, talking about movies, the Rolling Stones, and French pop music. It was just very mellow and lovely.”

As noted, the bulk of the album was co-produced by Ryan Adams and his collaborator/partner Mike Viola in the former’s Pax Am studio. In addition to Beck, Lewis’ boyfriend and bandmate Johnathan Rice contributed production.

Lewis previously said the follow-up to 2008’s Acid Tongue was inspired by many sleepless nights and her score for the Anne Hathaway-starring One Song. “This record was the hardest one I ever made,” she said. “The Voyager tells that story: the longest night of my life and the journey to finally getting some rest.”

Listen in below:

In related news, Lewis is set to appear on the June 5th episode of Comedy Bang! Bang!, during which she’ll sing the song “Camptown Races” alongside Zach Galifanakis. Watch a clip of the episode here.

The Voyager Tracklist:
01. Head Underwater
02. She’s Not Me
03. Just One of the Guys
04. Slippery Slopes
05. Late Bloomer
06. You Can’t Outrun ‘Em
07. The New You
08. Aloha & The Three Johns
09. Love U Forever
10. The Voyager

No comments