Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Listen: Jenny Lewis performs title track to new album, The Voyager

on June 05, 2014, 5:05pm

Earlier this week, Jenny Lewis unveiled the Beck-produced indie-rock stomper “Just One Of The Guys”, the first single from her upcoming third solo album, The Voyagerdue out July 29th via Warner Bros. During an in-studio session for WNYC’s Souncheck earlier today, Lewis previewed another of the album’s 10 songs in the form of its title track. In this particular setting, Lewis pairs her achy croon with a simple folk guitar, using her voice and poetic words to reach out and find some commonality with the world at-large (“Because The Voyager is in every boy and girl”).

Listen in below (“The Voyager” begins at 18:15 mark).

Lewis also performed “Just One Of The Guys” and “Rise Up With Fists!!”, from 2006’s Rabbit Fur Coat. Between songs, she further discussed the album’s insomnia-centric narrative and recording to analog at Ryan Adams’ Pax Am studio.

The Voyager Tracklist:
01. Head Underwater
02. She’s Not Me
03. Just One of the Guys
04. Slippery Slopes
05. Late Bloomer
06. You Can’t Outrun ‘Em
07. The New You
08. Aloha & The Three Johns
09. Love U Forever
10. The Voyager

No comments