New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Opeth announce new album, Pale Communion, stream “Cusp of Eternity”

on June 02, 2014, 2:45pm

Swedish metal band Opeth will release their 11th studio album, Pale Communion, on August 26th via Roadrunner Records. The eight-track effort was produced by frontman Mikael Åkerfeldt and mixed by longtime collaborator and Porcupine Tree guitarist Steven Wilson. In an interview with Noisey, Åkerfeldt said he wanted to continue expanding musically as he did with 2011’s Hertiage, which marked a shift from death metal to more psych and prog influences.

“I wanted to do something more melodic with this album,” he said. “There’s stronger vocal melodies and more melodies overall…I was pretty consistent with that frame of mind throughout the writing process.” A press release for the album added that it features very little “growls or death metal vocals.”

As our first taste, Opeth’s unveiled “Cusp of Eternity”. Nary a semblance of the band’s death metal past can be found. Instead, Åkerfeldt unfurls a truly majestic croon over a sea of slow-churning guitars and steadfast percussion. The band may have wiped off the corpse paint and enrolled in the Dio School of Metal Theatricality, but the more nuanced sound better fits their skill set and artistic scope.

Watch its accompanying animated music video at Metal Hammer.

Pale Communion Tracklist:
01. Eternal Rains Will Come
02. Cusp of Eternity
03. Moon Above, Sun Below
04. Elysian Woes
05. Goblin
06. River
07. Voice of Treason
08. Faith in Others

No comments