Album Streams
Listen to Full Streams of the Newest Albums
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Stream: Braid’s No Coast, their first new album in 16 years

on June 30, 2014, 3:15pm

Illinois emo rockers Braid will release their first album in 16 years, No Coast, on July 8th via Topshelf Records. In anticipation, it’s streaming in full over at

Forming in 1993, Braid helped to pioneer the “emotive rock” scene of the 1990s, laying the groundwork for bands like The Get Up Kids and Mineral. After touring relentlessly and releasing a slew of albums, 7-inch singles, and various splits, the band called it quits in 1999. Flash forward to just a few years ago, and following some lengthy discussions, the band reunited for 2011’s Closer To Closed EP and 2012’s “Frame & Canvas” tour.

In a statement, the band said they consider No Coast to be more of a “rebirth” than an actual reunion. “I think we feel like we want this to be an introduction to Braid more than a follow-up to previous material,” said guitarist/vocalist Chris Broach. “We wanted to capture the spirit and dynamic tension that comes from having two guys up front that have a lot to say and a rhythm section that helps shape the songs. We spent a lot of time looking to where we could give each instrument its own space on the record – everything has its place, and its very deliberate.”

The album is preceded by two singles, “Bang” and the title trackPre-orders are now ongoing.

No Coast Tracklist:
01. Bang
02. East End Hollows
03. No Coast
04. Damages!
05. Many Enemies
06. Pre-Evergreen
07. Put Some Wings On That Kid
08. Lux
09. Doing Yourself In
10. Climber New Entry
11. Light Crisis
12. This Is Not A Revolution

No comments