Album Streams
Listen to Full Streams of the Newest Albums
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Stream: First Aid Kit’s new album Stay Gold

on June 01, 2014, 11:18pm

First Aid Kit will release their new album, Stay Gold, on June 10th via Columbia Records. In anticipation, the LP is streaming in its entirety via NPR.

The 10-track effort serves as Swedish folk duo’s third album to date and follows 2012’s The Lion’s Roar. It was produced by Bright Eyes collaborator Mike Mogis and also features the Omaha Symphony Orchestra and arrangements from composer Nate Walcott (Broken Bells, Rilo Kiley).

In a recent interview with Nerdist, First Aid Kit’s Johanna Söderberg spoke about the importance of recording the LP in Omaha, citing Bright Eyes as one of their main influences: “The first band that we started listening to – really listening to – was Bright Eyes. So for us, it has a lot of positive feeling. And there’s just such a big music scene there. I mean, Mike Mogis, who we’ve gotten to know so well as a friend, and his studio, and also the way he works – he’s just an incredible producer. We just had to go there again.”

Söderberg also explained how the band wanted “to be more ambitious” on Stay Gold. “I think bigger was something we were trying to strive for, she said. “We’ve never tried that before. We always felt like, we kept it really simple, because there are only three people on stage, we wanted to not go too big, or do too complicated things. Now, we’re like, ‘You know what? Let’s have no limitations and see where we’ll go.'”

Pre-orders for the album are ongoing. Below, watch the video for “My Silver Lining”:

Stay Gold Tracklist:
01. My Silver Lining
02. Master Pretender
03. Stay Gold
04. Cedar Lane
05. Shattered & Hollow
06. The Bell
07. Waitress Song
08. Fleeting One
09. Heaven Knows
10. A Long Time Ago