New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

The Juan Maclean announce new album, In a Dream, stream “A Place Called Space”

on June 25, 2014, 10:55am

The Juan Maclean —  the duo of DJ/producer Juan Maclean and former LCD Soundsystem keyboardist Nancy Whang — have announced plans for a new studio album. Due out September 9th via DFA Records, In a Dream serves as the follow-up to both 2009’s The Future Will Come and 2011’s “odds and ends collection”, Everybody Get Close. In a press release, Maclean and Whang describe the nine-track effort as Whang’s “triumph” and “the Nancy Show”.

Those are certainly apt descriptor’s for the album’s lead single/opening track, “A Place Called Space”. Whang’s presence and influence is felt all over the track, from the layers of New Wave synths to her monotone croon that drips with a very specific kind of raw sexuality. For his part, Maclean happily plays back-up, infusing the track with dense drum machines and shards of bass as to further play up Whang’s enthralling performance.

Watch the accompanying visualizer below:

In A Dream Tracklist:
01. A Place Called Space
02. Here I Am
03. Love Stops Here
04. You Were A Runaway
05. Running Back To You
06. I’ve Waited For So Long
07. Charlotte
08. A Simple Design
09. The Sun Will Never Set On Our Love

No comments