New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Listen: FKA Twigs’ new song “Pendulum”

on July 29, 2014, 6:20pm

Though FKA Twigs has already shared a few tracks from her forthcoming LP1, including “Two Weeks” and “Video Girl”, several more have been debuted live. That includes “Pendulum”, a mournful number that finds the experimental R&B singer at her most vulnerable and evocative. Now, the studio version has been made available, following its premiere earlier this afternoon on Zane Lowe’s BBC Radio 1 show.

Twigs’ self-professed favorite track, “Pendulum” sees her lush falsetto placed squarely between the rattle of mechanical drums and the hum of strange, atmospheric synths. Even as the somewhat jarring sounds threaten to consume every drop of your attention, it’s damn near impossible to avoid the emotional spell Twigs weaves with each and every revelatory note.

Listen below.

LP1 is due out August 12th via Young Turks. For more sounds, check out live versions of the album tracks “Lights On” and “Give Up“. Plus, watch the totally beguiling video for her remix of 2012’s “Ache”.

LP1 Tracklist:
01. Preface
02. Lights On
03. Two Weeks
04. Hours
05. Pendulum
06. Video Girl
07. Numbers
08. Closer
09. Give Up
10. Kicks

No comments