Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Listen: Purling Hiss’ new song “Learning Slowly”

on July 29, 2014, 4:30pm

Psych-punk outfit Purling Hiss will release their latest album, Weirdon, on September 23rd via Drag City. According to a press release, the 11-track album finds the band venturing deeper into their own pop inspirations, making for their” fastest and catchiest songs in the abiding images of punk and psychedelia.” Today, we’re getting our first taste of a poppier Purling Hiss with “Learning Slowly.”

The track highlights frontman Mike Polizze’s guitar prowess, as he furiously delivers prolonged fuzz jams and infectious riffs with equal abandon. Against the upbeat, melodic instrumentation, Polizze sings with an apathetic tone that would make even the New York Dolls’ Johnny Thunders vehemently proud (or whatever). Though heavy on the layers of brutal distortion and cutting angst, the track isn’t without a sense of quirky charm and surprising universality.

Listen in below:

Weirdon Tracklist:
01. Forcefield of Solitude
02. Sundance Saloon Boogie
03. Learning Slowly
04. Another Silvermoon
05. Reptili-a-genda
06. Where’s Sweetboy
07. Aging Faces
08. I Don’t Wanna Be A…
09. Airwaves
10. Running Through My Dreams
11. Six Ways To Sunday