New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Listen: Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers’ new song “Forgotten Man”

on July 18, 2014, 1:37pm

Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers promised that their forthcoming 13th studio album, Hypnotic Eye, would be a “straight hard-rockin’ record, from beginning to end.” They’ve certainly made good on that promise with an impressive series of singles: “American Dream Plan B” was vintage Petty; “U Get Me High” and “Red River” were edgier takes on Americana; and “Fault Lines” was crushing rock and roll in its purest form.

Today, Petty and Co. unveil more good-old fashioned rock with “Forgotten Man”. If you buried a classic Dylan ballad under a couple of inches of lo-fi fuzz, you’d have this folk-Southern rock hybrid. When Petty claims to be “forever damned”, the medley of blown-out guitars, steady percussion, and bits of reverb help truly drive home his sense of anguish and everyman uncertainty.

Listen to it now over at Petty’s official site, which features an interactive player fashioned after an old car radio. “Forgotten Man” is found in the second slot over, between 104 and 100.

Hypnotic Eye is due out July 29th via Reprise Records. In support, Petty and the band will be on tour this summer and fall, including festival appearances at Lockn’ and Outside Lands. Consult the full schedule here.

Hypnotic Eye Tracklist:
01. American Dream Plan B
02. Fault Lines
03. Red River
04. Full Grown Boy
05. All You Can Carry
06. Power Drunk
07. Forgotten Man
08. Son of My Youth
09. U Get Me High
10. Burnt Out Town
11. Shadow People

No comments