Album Streams
Listen to Full Streams of the Newest Albums
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Stream: Jenny Lewis’ new album The Voyager

on July 20, 2014, 11:31pm

Singer-songwriter and former Rilo Kiley frontwoman Jenny Lewis will release her third solo album, The Voyager, on July 29th via Warner Bros. Records. In anticipation, it’s streaming in full over at NPR.

The follow-up to 2009’s Acid Tongue was produced by Ryan Adams and his collaborator/partner Mike Viola, with additional contributions from Beck and Lewis’ boyfriend/bandmate Jonathan Rice. Lewis began writing the album following the break-up of Rilo Kiley and the death of her estranged father.

“Making The Voyager got me through one of the most difficult periods of my life,” Lewis said in a statement. “After Rilo Kiley broke up and a few really intense personal things happened, I completely melted down. It nearly destroyed me. I had such severe insomnia that, at one point, I didn’t sleep for five straight nights. Many of the songs on The Voyager came out of the need to occupy my mind in the moments when I just couldn’t shut down.”

(Read: Dissected: Jenny Lewis)

A press release calls the album “Lewis’ most deeply personal album to date,” adding, “The Voyager finds the always relatable songwriter at her sharp-witted best, singing about her recent experiences with honesty and incisiveness.”

The album is preceded by two singles, “Just One of the Guys” and the title track.

Pre-orders for the album are ongoing. Below, watch the video for “Just One of the Guys”:

The Voyager Tracklist:
01. Head Underwater
02. She’s Not Me
03. Just One of the Guys
04. Slippery Slopes
05. Late Bloomer
06. You Can’t Outrun ‘Em
07. The New You
08. Aloha & The Three Johns
09. Love U Forever
10. The Voyager