The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

The Raveonettes release surprise new album, Pe’ahi, listen to two songs

on July 22, 2014, 10:00am

Never thought I’d mention these two acts in the same sentence, but here goes: The Raveonettes have gone and pulled a Beyoncé, abruptly releasing their seventh studio album.

Entitled Pe’ahi, the album draws its title from a popular surfing spot near Maui. Serving as the follow-up to 2012’s Observator, it spans 10 tracks and was produced by Justin Meldal-Johnsen (M83’s Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming). Purchase your copy of Pe’ahi now over at iTunes.

The Raveonettes have also made available the album’s first two tracks. “Endless Sleeper” is a blown-out pop-rock ballad, marked by an intriguing dynamic of jarring dissonance and cheery harmonies. Meanwhile, “Sisters” takes a similar formula and infuses more of an early ’90s, alt-rock vibe.

In a statement, Sune Rose Wagner said “Endless Sleeper” is rather indicative of the entire sound and aesthetic of Pe’ahi. “It’s about a horrific near-drowning experience I had in Hawaii some years ago. It’s about taking risks in order to exist. The song features a lot of recurring musical ideas of Pe’ahi such as Old Skool breakbeats, exaggerated dynamics, unconventional song structures, staccato guitar picking, intense layered vocals, etc.”

Listen to both tracks below.

“Endless Sleeper” (Warning: video contains flashing lights):


Pe’ahi Tracklist:
01. Endless Sleeper
02. Sisters
03. Killer in the Streets
04. Wake Me Up
05. Z-Boys
06. A Hell Below
07. The Rains of May
08. Kill!
09. When Night Is Almost Done
10. Summer Ends