Exclusive Premieres
The Hottest Songs, Music Videos, Posters and Trailers
That You Heard and Saw Here First

Listen: BRONCHO’s new song “What”

on August 13, 2014, 11:20am

In summarizing their upcoming sophomore album, Just Enough Hip To Be Woman, Oklahoma garage rock trio BRONCHO used this pop-culture-laden equation: “think Cheap Trick meets the Drive soundtrack meets every great song from Fast Times at Ridgemont High meets the greatest after-hours party you’ve never been to.” As evidenced by lead single “Class Historian”, that translates into a blend of rock ‘n’ roll that’s as hard-hitting and visceral as it is carefree and playful. Though I missed out on the Drive influences, so my math could be wrong.

Still, by tinkering with the sonic “ratios,” the trio can get varying results. Case in point, their latest single “What”. Less poppy than its predecessor, this album opener instead emphasizes the scuzz and fuzz of proto-punk blended with the twang and swagger of ’70s Southern rock. Even though it doesn’t have quite that same immediate sense of catchiness, it’s fun because the same free-wheeling sensibility still permeates throughout. It’s like, you can’t watch Fast Times every day, and sometimes you just need a little Weird Science. Amirite?!

Listen in below:

Just Enough Hip To Be Woman is due out September 16th via Dine Alone Records. In support, BRONCHO will hit the road later this month, where they’ll remain through early October. Consult their full schedule here.

Just Enough Hip To Be Woman Tracklist:
01. What
02. Class Historian
03. Deena
04. Stay Loose
05. NC-17
06. I’m Gonna Find Out Where He’s At
07. Stop Tricking
08. Taj Mahal
09. It’s On
10. Kurt
11. China

No comments