Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Listen: Code Orange’s new song “Dreams In Inertia”

on August 13, 2014, 4:45pm

With “My World”, the second single from their upcoming I AM KING album, Code Orange (fka Code Orange Kids) shared perhaps their most aggressive and cacophonous track to date. (Seriously, just read some Twitter comments. There were legit metal-heads that were disturbed.)

Now, with the elegantly-titled “Dreams In Inertia”, the CoSigned Pittsburgh punk outfit slow things down a bit. Of course, in the Code Orange handbook, “slow down” actually means continue to deliver the same terse, pulverizing waves of guttural noise, but leave room for extended breaks of rumbling feedback and reverb-heavy drums.Those little bubbles of “quiet” aren’t exactly brimming with tranquility; instead, the band manages to fill each and every second with a sense of impending doom that’s more destructive than even the gnarliest riff.

Watch the accompanying video below (via Fangoria), which is the lo-fi equivalent of Rosemary’s Baby.

I AM KING is due out September 2nd via Deathwish Inc. For more sounds, check out the album’s assaultive title track.

In support of the record, the band will be on tour in the US from September through mid-October. Consult the full schedule here.

I AM KING Tracklist:
01. I Am King
02. Slowburn
03. Dreams in Inertia
04. Unclean Spirit
05. Alone in a Room
06. My World
07. Starve
08. Your Body is Ready….
09. Thinners of the Herd
10. Bind You
11. Mercy

No comments