New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Listen: Stevie Nicks’ new song “Lady”

on August 25, 2014, 2:55pm

Stevie Nicks returns with her first solo album in three years, 24 Karat Gold — Songs From The Vault, on October 7th. Co-produced by Dave Stewart and Waddy Wachtel, the LP consists of previously unreleased material from the Fleetwood Mac singer’s decades-long career.

“Most of these songs were written between 1969 and 1987,” she noted in a press release. “One was written in 1994 and one in 1995. I included them because they seemed to belong to this special group.”

Nicks added: “Each song is a lifetime. Each song has a soul. Each song has a purpose. Each song is a love story … They represent my life behind the scenes, the secrets, the broken hearts, the broken hearted and the survivors. These songs are the memories – the 24 karat gold rings in the blue box. These songs are for you.”

Earlier this month we heard lead single “The Dealer”, a charming number that saw Nicks in true Rumours-era form. Now, she’s unveiled a stirring new piano ballad entitled “Lady”. If the track sounds familiar to fans, that might be because, as Stereogum points out, it’s “a different version of an old Nicks/Lindsey Buckingham demo called “Knockin’ On Doors”.

Check out “Lady” below via its lyric video.

24 Karat Gold – Songs from the Vault Tracklist (Deluxe Version):
01. Starshine
02. If You Were My Love
03. Mabel Normand
04. Twisted (bonus track)
05. 24 Karat Gold
06. Belle Fleur
07. All The Beautiful Worlds
08. Lady
09. I Don’t Care
10. Watch Chain (bonus track)
11. Hard Advice
12. Carousel
13. Blue Water
14. Cathouse Blues
15. The Dealer
16. She Loves Him Still

1 comment