Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Listen: The Drums’ new song “I Can’t Pretend”

on August 20, 2014, 10:22am

Though their sound has always been rather upbeat, The Drums’ upcoming third album, Encyclopedia, reflects the doubt and uncertainty experienced following 2011’s Portamento (which included lineup shifts and a near breakup.) Thus, the band describes the 12-song effort as “full of magic” while still maintaining a “serious, more weighty tone throughout.”

Lead single “Magic Mountain” certainly struck that balance, a solid ratio of cheery rhythms and a distinct air of emotional fragility. As a follow-up, “I Can’t Pretend” packs a bit more moroseness, but also sees the band experiment sonically. There’s nary a bit of jangle or pep to the entire track; instead, burned-out mutilated guitars march alongside slow, mushy drums for a slightly dissonant affair. Lyrically, frontman Jonny Pierce abandons the slight wink he usually purveys, sounding instead like a man ready to completely give up. It’s not a moment of “sadness so profound it’s life-affirming,” but rather akin to a giant scream of relief before moving on to bubblier endeavors.

Listen in below (via Dazed).

Encyclopedia is due out September 23rd via Minor. In support, the band will be on tour starting next month; consult their full schedule here.

Encyclopedia Tracklist:
01. Magic Mountain
02. I Can’t Pretend
03. I Hope Times Doesn’t Change Him
04. Kiss Me Again
05. Let Me
06. Break My Heart
07. Face Of God
08. U.S. National Park
09. Deep In My Heart
10. Bell Laboratories
11. There Is Nothing Left
12. Wild Gees

No comments