Album Streams
Listen to Full Streams of the Newest Albums
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Stream: Mike Watt’s new album with Il Sogno Del Marinaio, Canto Secondo

on August 18, 2014, 12:30pm

Legendary punk bassist Mike Watt will release the sophomore album from his outfit Il Sogno Del MarinaioCanto Secondo, on August 26th via his own Clenchedwrench imprint. Ahead of the official street date, you can stream the whole thing below.

Watt (of Minutemen, fIREHOSE, and The Stooges fame) first joined with Italian guitarist Stefano Pilia and drummer Andrea Belfi to record Il Sogno Del Marinaio’s (translated: “The Sailor’s Dream”) debut, La Busta Gialla, in 2009. The record didn’t see release until 2013 due to busy schedules and a desire to tour behind the release, but the wait for a followup has been considerably shorter.

Canto Secondo was recorded at Bologna, Italy’s Vacuum Studio over eight days last December. Talking with Media Mikes, Watt said the experience was quite different from the first album, as the band had spent far more time together in the interim. “When we did the first album we had just those three gigs together and that was it,” he said. “The album was informed by just knowing each other and that was it. This new album is definitely formed from a different place. I think it’s important to make something different each time.”

Stream the album below, and pre-order it here. In September, Il Sogno Del Marinaio will head out on a 53-stop US tour to support the release, and you can find their complete schedule here.

Canto Secondo Tracklist:
01. Animal Farm Tango
02. Alain
03. Nanos’ Waltz
04. Skinny Cat
05. Mountain Top
06. Il Sogno Del Fienile
07. Auslander
08. Stucazz??!!
09. Sailer Blues
10. Us in Their Land


1 comment