Album Streams
Listen to Full Streams of the Newest Albums
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Stream: The Gaslight Anthem’s new album Get Hurt

on August 05, 2014, 9:38am

New Jersey rockers The Gaslight Anthem will release their fifth studio album, Get Hurt, on August 12th via Island Records. In anticipation, it’s streaming in full at iTunes Radio.

The follow-up to 2012’s Handwritten was recorded at Blackbird Studios in Nashville alongside producer Mike Crossey (Arctic Monkeys, Foals). According to frontman Brian Fallon, the album marks a new direction for Gaslight, describing it as “completely different than anything we had ever done before.”

“Instead of going that extra step of just adding some organ or some background vocals, this time we actually really changed up a lot of the sounds,” he told Rolling Stone recently. “There are certain new songs where you might say, ‘Oh, that could have been on Handwritten,’ or ‘That could have been on 59 Sound,’ but there are some songs where you’re going to be like, ‘This has never been touched by this band before.'”

Fallon also explained his new, “first-person” songwriting approach on Get Hurt, even going as far to cite Bob Dylan as inspiration: “I’ll probably continue to write about heartbreak forever. That stuff doesn’t go away as you get older. You’re always trying to make each record more autobiographical than the last one. Before it was a lot of storytelling with lots of specific places and names. This time I wrote a lot of direct first-person narratives. You’re talking about yourself, so you have to find new way to do that each time. So, for this record it was a lot of poetry books and a lot of Bob Dylan.”

The album is preceded by three singles, the title track, “Rollin’ and Tumblin'”, and “Stay Vicious”.

Pre-orders for the album are ongoing. Below, watch the video for “Rollin’ and Tumblin'”:

Get Hurt Tracklist:
01. Stay Vicious
02. 1,000 Years
03. Get Hurt
04. Stray Paper
05. Helter Skeleton
06. Underneath the Ground
07. Rollin’ and Tumblin’
08. Red Violins
09. Selected Poems
10. Ain’t That a Shame
11. Break Your Heart

No comments