New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

The Flaming Lips side project Electric Würms stream new song “The Bat”

on August 11, 2014, 3:05pm

The Flaming Lips’ Wayne Coyne and Steven Drozd recently teamed with Nashville psych rockers Linear Downfall to form a new band called Electric Würms. In this “fantastical prog-rock kind of a jam band,” the two longtime bandmates swap places, with Drozd serving as singer and Coyne playing bass. On August 19th, they’ll release their debut album, Musik, Die Shwer Zu Twerk, via Warner Bros. Records.

Already Electric Würms have shared the six-track effort’s lead single, a mind-blowing cover of Yes’ “Heart of the Sunrise”, plus a handful of in-studio snippets. Today, they share “The Bat”, a five-minute acid jazz/prog rock mutant sewn together by the gentle clamor of percussion, bits of junky studio noise, and blown-out, surprisingly gorgeous vocals from Drozd. If Miles Davis ate a sheet of mescaline and joined Yes, this is probably the song they would have recorded.

Listen in below (via Billboard):

Of course, this isn’t the only collaboration Coyne and Drozd have coming down the pipeline.  On October 28th, the Lips will release their covers album of The Beatles’ Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band. Entitled With a Little Help From My Fwends, it features contributions form Miley Cyrus, Moby, Tool frontman Maynard James Keenan, My Morning Jacket, MGMT, Tegan & Sara, Phantogram, and many more.

Musik, Die Shwer Zu Twerk Tracklist:
01. I Could Only See Clouds
02. Futuristic Hallucination
03. The Bat
04. Living
05. Transform!!!
06. Heart of the Sunrise

No comments