New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Ghostface Killah announces new album, 36 Seasons, premieres “Love Don’t Live Here No More”

on November 11, 2014, 12:05pm

With Wu-Tang Clan’s new album, A Better Tomorrow, out December 2nd, and his collaborative record with BADBADNOTGOOD hitting stores on January 17th, Ghostface Killah is on a pretty prolific streak. Now, he’s adding yet another item to his busy schedule: a new solo album. Entitled 36 Seasons, the forthcoming effort will be released on December 9th via Salvation/Tommy Boy. It’s Killah’s 11th studio album proper and follows 2013’s Twelve Reasons To Die.

According to the press materials, the LP is a concept album that finds Killah performing in character as a “Staten Island vigilante inspired by a quest for personal retribution and bent on saving his community from the grips of crooked authority and urban decay.” The album boasts an extensive cast of guests, including Pharoahe Monch, Kool G Rap, The Revelations, AZ, and more.

As a first taste, Killah has shared “Love Don’t Live Here No More”. Anchored by a vintage soul beat, the track sees the New York MC lamenting over a broken relationship. Singer Kandace Springs tackles the hook, making it a classic call and response rap between two “ex-lovers.” Despite all its retro leanings, Killah’s expert flow and compelling narrative makes it a worthwhile first single. Listen in below.

A deluxe bundle for the album includes a 24-page graphic novel curated by the same artists behind Ghostface’s 2013 comic series, 12 Reasons to Die. Pre-orders are ongoing.

36 Seasons Tracklist:
01. The Battlefield (feat. Kool G Rap, AZ, Tre Williams)
02. Love Don’t Live Here No More (feat. Kandace Springs)
03. Here I Go Again (feat. AZ, Rell)
04. Loyalty (feat. Kool G Rap, Nems)
05. It’s a Thin Line Between Love and Hate (feat. The Revelations)
06. The Dog’s of War (feat. Shawn Wigs, Kool G Rap)
07. Emergency Procedure (feat. Pharoahe Monch)
08. Double Cross (feat. AZ)
09. Bamboo’s Lament (feat. Kandace Springs)
10. Pieces of the Puzzle (feat. AZ)
11. Homicide (feat. Nems, Shawn Wigs)
12. Blood in the Streets (feat. AZ)
13. Call My Name
14. I Love You For All Seasons (feat. The Revelations)

No comments