New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Soundgarden premiere unreleased track “Kristi” — listen

on November 20, 2014, 10:55am

On November 24th, Soundgarden will release Echo of Miles: Scattered Tracks Across the Path, a collection of unreleased songs, instrumentals, covers, and assorted demos taken from throughout their 26-year career. Already the band has shared a few previews of the three-disc, 50-track compilation: “Storm”, a song dating back to 1989 that the band re-recorded alongside producer Jack Endino; a cover of Sly and the Family Stone’s “Thank You (Falettinme Be Mice Elf Agin)”; and the roaring instrumental “Twin Tower”.

Today, the grunge gods have broken off yet another unreleased track in the form of “Kristi”. Recorded during the sessions for 1996’s Down On The Upside, the morose and monstrous rock anthem has only ever been played live once, during the band’s set at Reading Festival 1995. Given its similar vibe and overall aesthetic to the rest of Down, and that it’s reportedly drummer Matt Cameron’s favorite track, you’ve got to wonder why it was left on the cutting room floor in the first place. Listen in below (via Stereogum).

Pre-orders for Echo of Miles are ongoing. Check out the entire tracklist below.

Echo of Miles: Scattered Tracks Across the Path Tracklist:

Disc 1 (Originals)
01. Sub Pop Rock City
02. Toy Box
03. Heretic
04. Fresh Deadly Roses
05. H.I.V. Baby
06. Cold Bitch
07. Show Me
08. She’s A Politician
09. Birth Ritual
10. She Likes Surprises
11. Kyle Petty, Son of Richard
12. Exit Stonehenge
13. Blind Dogs
14. Bleed Together
15. Black Rain
16. Live To Rise
17. Kristi *
18. Storm *

Disc 2 (Covers)
01. Swallow My Pride
02. Smokestack Lightnin’
03. Everybody’s Got Something (John Peel BBC Session) *
04. Thank You (Falettinme Be Mice Elf Again) (John Peel BBC Session) *
05. Come Together
06. Stray Cat Blues
07. Into The Void
08. Girl U Want
09. Touch Me (Friday Rock Show BBC Session)
10. Can You See Me? (Friday Rock Show BBC Session)
11. Homicidal Suicidal (Friday Rock Show BBC Session)
12. I Can’t Give You Anything (Friday Rock Show BBC Session)
13. I Don’t Care About You (Friday Rock Show BBC Session)
14. Waiting For The Sun (Live)
15. Search And Destroy (Live)
16. Big Bottom (Live)
17. Earache My Eye (Live)

Disc 3 (Oddities)
01. Twin Tower *
02. Jerry Garcia’s Finger
03. Ghostmotorfinger
04. Night Surf *
05. A Splice Of Space Jam
06. The Telephantasm
07. Black Days III
08. Karaoke
09. Fopp (Fucked Up Heavy Dub Remix)
10. Big Dumb Sex (Dub Version)
11. Spoonman (Steve Fisk Remix)
12. Rhinosaur (The Straw That Broke The Rhino’s Back Remix)
13. Dusty (Moby Remix)
14. The Telephantasm (Steve Fisk 2014 Remix) *
15. One Minute Of Silence

* = Previously unreleased

No comments