Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Soundgarden unveil instrumental, rare cover of Sly and the Family Stone’s “Thank You (Falettinme Be Mice Elf Agin)” — listen

on November 07, 2014, 9:45am

On November 24th, Soundgarden will release Echo of Miles: Scattered Tracks Across the Path, a collection of unreleased songs, instrumentals, covers, and assorted demos taken from throughout their 26-year career. Our first preview of the three-disc, 50-track compilation came with “Storm”, a song dating back to 1989 that the band re-recorded alongside producer Jack Endino. Today, the grunge gods have broken off another track in the form of a cover of Sly and the Family Stone’s “Thank You (Falettinme Be Mice Elf Agin)”.

Recorded during a “Peel Session” for BBC Radio back in mid-1989, this rendition sees Soundgarden take the funky, uplifiting jam down into a deep well of grimy alt rock. All that remains of the original is that hypnotic bassline, now surrounded by chunky metal guitars, Chris Cornell’s moody wailing, and plenty of brooding intensity.  Listen in below.

Update: Soundgarden has also shared a previously-unreleased instrumental (via Rolling Stone). The feedback-heavy “Twin Tower” dates back to the 1988 sessions for the band’s second album, Louder Than Love.

Pre-orders for Echo of Miles are ongoing. Check out the entire tracklist below.

Echo of Miles: Scattered Tracks Across the Path Tracklist:

Disc 1 (Originals)
01. Sub Pop Rock City
02. Toy Box
03. Heretic
04. Fresh Deadly Roses
05. H.I.V. Baby
06. Cold Bitch
07. Show Me
08. She’s A Politician
09. Birth Ritual
10. She Likes Surprises
11. Kyle Petty, Son of Richard
12. Exit Stonehenge
13. Blind Dogs
14. Bleed Together
15. Black Rain
16. Live To Rise
17. Kristi *
18. Storm *

Disc 2 (Covers)
01. Swallow My Pride
02. Smokestack Lightnin’
03. Everybody’s Got Something (John Peel BBC Session) *
04. Thank You (Falettinme Be Mice Elf Again) (John Peel BBC Session) *
05. Come Together
06. Stray Cat Blues
07. Into The Void
08. Girl U Want
09. Touch Me (Friday Rock Show BBC Session)
10. Can You See Me? (Friday Rock Show BBC Session)
11. Homicidal Suicidal (Friday Rock Show BBC Session)
12. I Can’t Give You Anything (Friday Rock Show BBC Session)
13. I Don’t Care About You (Friday Rock Show BBC Session)
14. Waiting For The Sun (Live)
15. Search And Destroy (Live)
16. Big Bottom (Live)
17. Earache My Eye (Live)

Disc 3 (Oddities)
01. Twin Tower *
02. Jerry Garcia’s Finger
03. Ghostmotorfinger
04. Night Surf *
05. A Splice Of Space Jam
06. The Telephantasm
07. Black Days III
08. Karaoke
09. Fopp (Fucked Up Heavy Dub Remix)
10. Big Dumb Sex (Dub Version)
11. Spoonman (Steve Fisk Remix)
12. Rhinosaur (The Straw That Broke The Rhino’s Back Remix)
13. Dusty (Moby Remix)
14. The Telephantasm (Steve Fisk 2014 Remix) *
15. One Minute Of Silence

* = Previously unreleased