Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Title of new Star Wars film revealed

on November 06, 2014, 12:24pm

J.J. Abrams has confirmed The Force Awakens as the title of his forthcoming Star Wars film. Set to hit theaters on December 18th, 2015, it marks the seventh film in the franchise and the beginning of the third trilogy.

The film stars John Boyega, Daisy Ridley, Adam Driver, Oscar Isaac, Andy Serkis, Domhnall Gleeson, Max von Sydow, Lupita Nyong’o, and Gwendoline Christie, with Harrison Ford, Carrie Fisher, Mark Hamill, Anthony Daniels, Peter Mayhew, and Kenny Baker reprising their roles from previous films. John Williams will helm the score.

According to CinemaBlend, the film will take place 30 years after the events portrayed in Return of the Jedi. It’s believed the plot will focus on George Lucas’ original characters of Luke Skywalker, Princess Leia, and Han Solo, as well as a new set of younger characters.

No comments