The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music and Film Headlines

Bob Dylan announces details of new album, Shadows In The Night

on December 09, 2014, 9:40am

Bob Dylan has unveiled the full details of his next studio album, Shadows in the Night. Due out February 3rd, 2015 via Columbia Records, the 10-track effort is comprised entirely of Frank Sinatra covers, including renditions of “Full Moon And Empty Arms”, “Stay With Me”, “What I’ll Do”, and “Where Are You”, among others.

In a press release, Dylan explained the project’s genesis and how he approached the recording process:

It was a real privilege to make this album. I’ve wanted to do something like this for a long time but was never brave enough to approach 30-piece complicated arrangements and refine them down for a 5-piece band. That’s the key to all these performances. We knew these songs extremely well. It was all done live. Maybe one or two takes. No overdubbing. No vocal booths. No headphones. No separate tracking, and, for the most part, mixed as it was recorded. I don’t see myself as covering these songs in any way. They’ve been covered enough. Buried, as a matter a fact. What me and my band are basically doing is uncovering them. Lifting them out of the grave and bringing them into the light of day.

Below, revisit Dylan’s charming cover of “Full Moon And Empty Arms”. The full tracklist follows.

Shadows In The Night Tracklist:
01. I’m A Fool To Want You
02. The Night We Called It A Day
03. Stay With Me
04. Autumn Leaves
05. Why Try To Change Me Now
06. Some Enchanted Evening
07. Full Moon And Empty Arms
08. Where Are You
09. What’ll I Do
10. That Lucky Old Son

Shadows In The Night serves as Dylan’s first album since 2012’s Tempest. However, 2014 saw the release of two sizable releases from the Dylan archives: The Basement Tapes Complete, a six-disc collection of 138 tracks, and Lost on the River: The New Basement Tapes, in which an all-star contingency of folk rockers created music for two dozen newly-discovered Dylan songs.